[Help]No Virpil throttle

Any issues with the XWAU or X-Wing Alliance? Please let us know here!
Post Reply

[Help]No Virpil throttle

kev11106
Cadet 3rd Class
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2018 4:37 pm

Post by kev11106 » Sat May 07, 2022 11:02 pm

[HELP] Win 10 GOG

Hey guys,

Did a fresh install for the beta version update and now have no throttle function. The joystick config sees it, but after trying every number possible, I can't get the program to see it. Even after placing the new hooks. Ideas?

kev11106
Cadet 3rd Class
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2018 4:37 pm

Post by kev11106 » Sat May 14, 2022 2:53 pm

Still no joy. The "Control index or ID" line sees it at 1 but after trying -1 thru 6 on the Axis Index line, nothing. Reinstall?

User avatar
Ace Antilles
Admiral (Moderator)
Posts: 6735
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2000 12:01 am
Contact:

Post by Ace Antilles » Sat May 14, 2022 3:37 pm

I would try a reinstall first and check the joystick works at various stages.
If that still doesn't work share your joystick details and maybe @JeremyaFr may have some ideas
Chief XWAU Team annoying nitpicker.
Ace Antilles - The X-Wing Outpost
Image

kev11106
Cadet 3rd Class
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2018 4:37 pm

Post by kev11106 » Tue May 17, 2022 3:06 pm

After multiple reinstalls, no throttle. Also, the system controllers tab sees my joystick but it doesn't show up in my buttons tab. Help me, Jeremy. You're my only hope...

User avatar
JeremyaFr
XWAU Member
Posts: 3343
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 5:52 pm
Contact:

Post by JeremyaFr » Tue May 17, 2022 8:37 pm

Hello,
Can you post screenshots of the config screens?

kev11106
Cadet 3rd Class
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2018 4:37 pm

Post by kev11106 » Wed May 18, 2022 5:13 pm

config1.jpg
config2.jpg
config3.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

kev11106
Cadet 3rd Class
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2018 4:37 pm

Post by kev11106 » Wed May 18, 2022 9:06 pm

20220518_130720.jpg
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

AstroNomad
Recruit
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2021 1:25 pm

Post by AstroNomad » Wed May 18, 2022 10:01 pm

Hi, I just want to confirm that I am having the same awkward situation with the throttle not being recognised, while the joystick and rudder pedals work normally through vjoy. Also happens after a fresh install.

User avatar
JeremyaFr
XWAU Member
Posts: 3343
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 5:52 pm
Contact:

Post by JeremyaFr » Thu May 19, 2022 7:47 pm

Hello,
Here is a WIP of the joystick configurator.
I've added a screen to identy the axes of the joystick.

You can use it to see if the throttle axis is identified.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

kev11106
Cadet 3rd Class
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2018 4:37 pm

Post by kev11106 » Thu May 19, 2022 10:27 pm

Axis tab sees it, game does not.

AstroNomad
Recruit
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2021 1:25 pm

Post by AstroNomad » Sat May 21, 2022 7:58 pm

kev11106 wrote:
Thu May 19, 2022 10:27 pm
Axis tab sees it, game does not.
Same here, axis tab sees input, I correlate the assignments according to the axis tab, but the game does not register some (but not all) axes.

danrevella
Cadet 3rd Class
Posts: 36
Joined: Fri Nov 27, 2015 1:08 pm

Post by danrevella » Sun May 22, 2022 6:13 am

I am speaking as a layman, but looking at X-wingalliance.exe at runtime level, I may see that both dinput.dll and Xinput.dll are loaded in memory.
The original 1999 game, I remember (but was may years ago) that access at the joystick level only in dinput mode.
So maybe.... (maybe I have tell...) that the hook responsable for joystick hook try to translate Xinput------>dinput losing something...
Not all the new joystick devices does support both pdinput and Xinput.
F.e. with a device who does support both dinput and Xinput, seems to be that dinput win the competition-------> my xbox360 f.e. even I would like NOT to hook Z axis( Ilet it blank in the configurator), when in the game Z axys is BTW in the game assigned to throttle.
I must admit: I have few ideas but they are well --------------->confused ;-)

kev11106
Cadet 3rd Class
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2018 4:37 pm

Post by kev11106 » Sat May 28, 2022 8:48 pm

Hope it helps...

NVIDIA System Information report created on: 05/28/2022 16:42:53
System name: DESKTOP-BGCJ1D8

[Display]
Operating System: Windows 10 Pro, 64-bit
DirectX version: 12.0
GPU processor: NVIDIA GeForce RTX 3090
Driver version: 512.95
Driver Type: DCH
Direct3D feature level: 12_1
CUDA Cores: 10496
Resizable BAR No
Core clock: 1800 MHz
Memory data rate: 19.50 Gbps
Memory interface: 384-bit
Memory bandwidth: 936.10 GB/s
Total available graphics memory: 32725 MB
Dedicated video memory: 24576 MB GDDR6X
System video memory: 0 MB
Shared system memory: 8149 MB
Video BIOS version: 94.02.42.C0.02
IRQ: Not used
Bus: PCI Express x16 Gen3
Device Id: 10DE 2204 39823842
Part Number: G132 0010

[Components]

nvui.dll 8.17.15.1295 NVIDIA User Experience Driver Component
nvxdplcy.dll 8.17.15.1295 NVIDIA User Experience Driver Component
nvxdbat.dll 8.17.15.1295 NVIDIA User Experience Driver Component
nvxdapix.dll 8.17.15.1295 NVIDIA User Experience Driver Component
NVCPL.DLL 8.17.15.1295 NVIDIA User Experience Driver Component
nvCplUIR.dll 8.1.940.0 NVIDIA Control Panel
nvCplUI.exe 8.1.940.0 NVIDIA Control Panel
nvWSSR.dll 30.0.15.1295 NVIDIA Workstation Server
nvWSS.dll 30.0.15.1295 NVIDIA Workstation Server
nvViTvSR.dll 30.0.15.1295 NVIDIA Video Server
nvViTvS.dll 30.0.15.1295 NVIDIA Video Server
nvLicensingS.dll 6.14.15.1295 NVIDIA Licensing Server
nvDevToolSR.dll 30.0.15.1295 NVIDIA Licensing Server
nvDevToolS.dll 30.0.15.1295 NVIDIA 3D Settings Server
nvDispSR.dll 30.0.15.1295 NVIDIA Display Server
nvDispS.dll 30.0.15.1295 NVIDIA Display Server
PhysX 09.21.0713 NVIDIA PhysX
NVCUDA64.DLL 30.0.15.1295 NVIDIA CUDA 11.6.134 driver
nvGameSR.dll 30.0.15.1295 NVIDIA 3D Settings Server
nvGameS.dll 30.0.15.1295 NVIDIA 3D Settings Server

kev11106
Cadet 3rd Class
Posts: 31
Joined: Wed Apr 11, 2018 4:37 pm

Post by kev11106 » Thu Jun 23, 2022 4:44 pm

Any news?

AstroNomad
Recruit
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Sep 01, 2021 1:25 pm

Post by AstroNomad » Sat Jun 25, 2022 2:54 pm

Has this been solved in update 5.5?

+1 for including an update of the input mapping system into the next release.

Post Reply