[Solved] Space bomb sound effect when switching to map

Any issues with the XWAU or X-Wing Alliance? Please let us know here!

[Solved] Space bomb sound effect when switching to map

Destex
Cadet 2nd Class

Post by Destex » Tue Oct 05, 2021 12:47 pm

Hi all!

There are two weird phenomenons when switching to the in-flight tactical map. I searched the forums but didn't find a similar report.

1. The sound effect of launching a space-bomb is played.
2. The craft slows down (maybe as a result of the AI taking over?). Now that's uncool if you are counting on your speed while you view the map and a pesty starfighter takes you out :)

I suppose that's not by design so I'd thought to report it.
I'm running TFTC v1.1 for XWA 2.02, but I noticed these issue ever since I started playing XWA Upgrade Project 5 years ago. Maybe these are even vanilla bugs...
Last edited by Ace Antilles on Tue Oct 05, 2021 11:23 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Reason: Solved

Ace Antilles
Admiral (Moderator)

Post by Ace Antilles » Tue Oct 05, 2021 12:58 pm

I think you will find the sound is a vanilla thing.

Many sounds are used for a few areas. That's what made making my Sound Upgrade from my site so difficult.
So it's either have a good bomb sound or a map one. The bomb is obviously the better choice.

Speed issues I'm not sure on but again worth trying in vanilla XWA
Chief XWAU Team annoying nitpicker.
Ace Antilles - The X-Wing Outpost

Destex
Cadet 2nd Class

Post by Destex » Tue Oct 05, 2021 4:45 pm

Thanks for the quick reply!
Ace Antilles wrote:
Tue Oct 05, 2021 12:58 pm
So it's either have a good bomb sound or a map one. The bomb is obviously the better choice.
I might be missing out something here, but why would a bomb sound be a better choice when you simply open a map? I understand from your reply that there is a map sound?

AngeI
Lieutenant JG

Post by AngeI » Tue Oct 05, 2021 8:05 pm

Destex wrote:
Tue Oct 05, 2021 4:45 pm
Ace Antilles wrote: