32-bit mode hook

A Forum dedicated to the Suggestion, Creation and Editing of XWA Dynamic Link Library Files

Moderator: JeremyaFr

Re: 32-bit mode hook

Bman
Lieutenant Commander
Posts: 1054
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2004 11:01 pm

Post by Bman » Sun Aug 18, 2019 9:33 pm

Great. Looks a lot better.
W-I-P: ISD-II, (Imp) Escort Carrier, NL-1 Platform, Misc, & TFTC.

User avatar
JeremyaFr
XWAU Member
Posts: 3205
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 5:52 pm
Contact:

Post by JeremyaFr » Tue Mar 10, 2020 4:33 pm

UPDATE
Hello,
I've updated the 32bit hook.

I've fixed an incorrect detection of transparent textures. This fix requires an updated textures tag hook.

User avatar
JeremyaFr
XWAU Member
Posts: 3205
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 5:52 pm
Contact:

Post by JeremyaFr » Wed May 06, 2020 12:38 pm

UPDATE

Hello,
I've updated the 32bpp hook.

I've fixed the default illum value.

User avatar
Darksaber
Vice Admiral
Posts: 10931
Joined: Mon Jan 10, 2000 12:01 am
Contact:

Post by Darksaber » Wed May 06, 2020 5:50 pm

Thank you :)
“You can please some of the people all of the time, you can please all of the people some of the time, but you can’t please all of the people all of the time”.”
- John Lydgate

Good Things Come To Those Who Wait....
Darksaber's X-Wing Station

User avatar
JeremyaFr
XWAU Member
Posts: 3205
Joined: Mon Jan 18, 2010 5:52 pm
Contact:

Post by JeremyaFr » Mon May 18, 2020 1:42 pm

UPDATE

Hello,
I've updated the 32bpp hook.

I've fixed a bug related to the dat images mipmaps.

CupcakeFS
Recruit
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Feb 07, 2021 8:50 pm

Post by CupcakeFS » Wed Nov 24, 2021 3:01 am

JeremyaFr wrote:
Thu Jul 18, 2019 6:20 pm
This hook enables 32-bit mode.
8-bit OPTs are converted to 32 bits and the game can load 32-bit OPTs.
The game can load 32-bit DAT images. Existing DAT images are converted to 32 bits.

(...)
Installing this hook would generally make the game look better, right? I don't completely understand how letting the game load (larger than 8-bit?) 32-bit DAT images makes the game look better, but I don't need to know the technical details, and I could read more about it on my own if I was really interested in the topic. So, without getting too technical ...

Could this hook cause lower frame rates? I know that the real answer is for me to make a temporary back-up, and then test it.

I assume there's some description of minimum system requirements--at least hypothetically--so is that something to keep in mind before using the hook? I have an 8th-gen i7 based laptop. It's far from a "gaming PC," but mostly because of the lack of a powerful GPU. I've read that XWA wasn't coded to take advantage of modern GPUs, so maybe the lack of a GPU might not be the bottleneck in my current set-up.

User avatar
blue_max
XWAU Member
Posts: 1947
Joined: Wed Mar 20, 2019 5:12 am

Post by blue_max » Fri Nov 26, 2021 7:43 am

CupcakeFS wrote:
Wed Nov 24, 2021 3:01 am
Could this hook cause lower frame rates? I know that the real answer is for me to make a temporary back-up, and then test it.
No: hook_32bpp.dll is unlikely to cause lower frame rates. Even before this hook, all textures were converted to a 32-bit format inside ddraw anyway. The difference is that before this hook, we could only load 7-bit indexed formats (i.e. lower-quality images) and now we can load full 32-bit formats (higher-quality images). But either way, the images that are used by DirectX are 32-bit.
I assume there's some description of minimum system requirements--at least hypothetically--so is that something to keep in mind before using the hook? I have an 8th-gen i7 based laptop. It's far from a "gaming PC," but mostly because of the lack of a powerful GPU. I've read that XWA wasn't coded to take advantage of modern GPUs, so maybe the lack of a GPU might not be the bottleneck in my current set-up.
I've got a Surface Book 2 from... 3 years ago more or less. It's got an i7 with an nVidia 1060 and the game runs fine. I can even run it in VR. Your processor is fine, but you'll need a reasonably-good GPU to run it with the effects on.

It's true that XWA wasn't originally coded to take full advantage of the GPUs, but the modern effects we've added do place a significant load on the GPU now. If you don't have a proper GPU you can always disable a few of the effects or disable all of them using the Babu Frik configurator to get better performance.

CupcakeFS
Recruit
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Feb 07, 2021 8:50 pm

Post by CupcakeFS » Fri Nov 26, 2021 7:23 pm

That makes sense, thanks.

Post Reply