Default skins

Want to edit the game, build your own craft and missions? Here you'll find help, tools, guides and people to discuss with.
Post Reply

Default skins

Prime
Cadet 2nd Class
Posts: 75
Joined: Sun Jul 16, 2006 11:01 pm

Post by Prime » Wed Dec 08, 2021 5:25 am

If I have a new skin for an existing ship, is there a way to make it the default for all missions and skirmish? Essentially make it the de facto look for the ship. Or do skins have to be specified in each mission INI?

User avatar
Ace Antilles
Admiral (Moderator)
Posts: 6905
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2000 12:01 am
Contact:

Post by Ace Antilles » Wed Dec 08, 2021 2:39 pm

Prime wrote:
Wed Dec 08, 2021 5:25 am
If I have a new skin for an existing ship, is there a way to make it the default for all missions and skirmish? Essentially make it the de facto look for the ship. Or do skins have to be specified in each mission INI?
Skins have to be specified in each mission INI.

There's a way but not exactly a simple way. The ship needs to be replaced totally.
Which ship is it? Also would love to see the Skin result anyway :)
Chief XWAU Team annoying nitpicker.
Ace Antilles - The X-Wing Outpost
Image

Prime
Cadet 2nd Class
Posts: 75
Joined: Sun Jul 16, 2006 11:01 pm

Post by Prime » Thu Dec 09, 2021 1:00 am

Ok thanks for the info. I've just started playing around with my own version of a YT-1300 with different markings and an updated cockpit. I'll throw up some sceenshots when it is done. Thanks again!

User avatar
Ace Antilles
Admiral (Moderator)
Posts: 6905
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2000 12:01 am
Contact:

Post by Ace Antilles » Thu Dec 09, 2021 1:49 am

Prime wrote:
Thu Dec 09, 2021 1:00 am
Ok thanks for the info. I've just started playing around with my own version of a YT-1300 with different markings and an updated cockpit. I'll throw up some sceenshots when it is done. Thanks again!
Brilliant. That's something I would love to see.
Added Skins to the YT range is on the to do wish list. Plus many other ideas for future improvements.
When I get some more time I'll drop you a message about the best way to make it your default opt.
Chief XWAU Team annoying nitpicker.
Ace Antilles - The X-Wing Outpost
Image

Prime
Cadet 2nd Class
Posts: 75
Joined: Sun Jul 16, 2006 11:01 pm

Post by Prime » Thu Dec 09, 2021 3:39 am

That would be much appreciated.

In the meantime I had a couple more questions. I am using OPTech (version 2.0.82) to extract the textures and rebuild the opt. Before the recently updated version of the Falcon that was just released, there was no problem importing the .opt and having all the textures extracted. However now several of the textures are just solid black, and as a result rebuilding the .opt those portions of the model and transparent in game. I've heard the term "materials" mentioned in relation to the new Falcon but I don't understand what that is yet, or whether it could be related. Do you have an idea what could cause black texture files to be extracted?

StanMoller
Recruit
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Sep 28, 2022 2:35 pm

Post by StanMoller » Wed Sep 28, 2022 2:36 pm

Hey, folks. I'm grateful for your info on that. You know, sometimes it's complicated for me to find something reasonable about it on the Internet. I think it's because I'm 58 years old, and the Internet is generally complicated. Still, I have some friends at https://skincashier.com who always help me figure out how it works. I think I'm really lucky to have such devoted and young friends. Anyway, huge thanks for your help. Wish I had found this thread earlier, folks. Best wishes to you all. Keep the thread updated.
Last edited by StanMoller on Mon Oct 03, 2022 5:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Bman
Lieutenant Commander
Posts: 1102
Joined: Mon Apr 05, 2004 11:01 pm

Post by Bman » Thu Sep 29, 2022 3:43 am

@Prime OPTech currently doesn't open models with 32 bit colored textures (ARGB). When using Optech, probably better to use temporary 8-bit 256 indexed color pallet textures. Then you can replace them with HD textures using XwaOptEditor. UV mapping texture coordinates from the native modeling software should carry over through Optech or directly into XWAOptEditor without worrying about that part. In fact, it would probably be better to use XwaOptEditor to export textures from an existing .opt model if that is what you are doing. Then replace with HD textures via same tool. If you want to add (bake in) additional skins textures to existing model's default skin, you can add them as secondary, tertiary skins etc. via the {Face Groups:0 } tab. In AlliED editor nomenclature they are a/k/a FG skin colors Red 0, Gold 1, Blue 2, Green 3, etc. When you replace or add additional skin texture you can then see the new skin for part of the mesh(s) face group on the model by clicking on Version button on bottom right corner of XWAOptEditor. 0 = first default layer of textures.

Edit: Probably better to use the new Skins hook by creating the Skins folder and your ship within the XWA/FlightModels folder. You can find other ship examples as reference. This is a dynamic approach and keeps the model file size smaller rather than baking them into the model as additional skins as I wrote above.
W-I-P: ISD-II, (Imp) Escort Carrier, NL-1 Platform, Misc, & TFTC.

Post Reply