Page 1 of 1

Default skins

Posted: Wed Dec 08, 2021 5:25 am
by Prime
If I have a new skin for an existing ship, is there a way to make it the default for all missions and skirmish? Essentially make it the de facto look for the ship. Or do skins have to be specified in each mission INI?

Re: Default skins

Posted: Wed Dec 08, 2021 2:39 pm
by Ace Antilles
Prime wrote:
Wed Dec 08, 2021 5:25 am
If I have a new skin for an existing ship, is there a way to make it the default for all missions and skirmish? Essentially make it the de facto look for the ship. Or do skins have to be specified in each mission INI?
Skins have to be specified in each mission INI.

There's a way but not exactly a simple way. The ship needs to be replaced totally.
Which ship is it? Also would love to see the Skin result anyway :)

Re: Default skins

Posted: Thu Dec 09, 2021 1:00 am
by Prime
Ok thanks for the info. I've just started playing around with my own version of a YT-1300 with different markings and an updated cockpit. I'll throw up some sceenshots when it is done. Thanks again!

Re: Default skins

Posted: Thu Dec 09, 2021 1:49 am
by Ace Antilles
Prime wrote:
Thu Dec 09, 2021 1:00 am
Ok thanks for the info. I've just started playing around with my own version of a YT-1300 with different markings and an updated cockpit. I'll throw up some sceenshots when it is done. Thanks again!
Brilliant. That's something I would love to see.
Added Skins to the YT range is on the to do wish list. Plus many other ideas for future improvements.
When I get some more time I'll drop you a message about the best way to make it your default opt.

Re: Default skins

Posted: Thu Dec 09, 2021 3:39 am
by Prime
That would be much appreciated.

In the meantime I had a couple more questions. I am using OPTech (version 2.0.82) to extract the textures and rebuild the opt. Before the recently updated version of the Falcon that was just released, there was no problem importing the .opt and having all the textures extracted. However now several of the textures are just solid black, and as a result rebuilding the .opt those portions of the model and transparent in game. I've heard the term "materials" mentioned in relation to the new Falcon but I don't understand what that is yet, or whether it could be related. Do you have an idea what could cause black texture files to be extracted?