Yogeme Super Backdrops

Want to edit the game, build your own craft and missions? Here you'll find help, tools, guides and people to discuss with.
Post Reply

Yogeme Super Backdrops

smm2303
Cadet 4th Class
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2017 6:46 am

Post by smm2303 » Sun Jun 06, 2021 9:41 am

I have few custom mission old. And I am using XWA with Mega patch Update 3.0
The vanilla mission runs ok. But when I add super backdrops from Yogeme the mission adds 4 star destroyers as backdrops. and new starfield.
Why four star destroyers?

I have attached some files as well as my .tie file. I have lot of custom missions and need to apple super backdrops. Pls help.
Thank you
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.

User avatar
Ace Antilles
Admiral (Moderator)
Posts: 5963
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2000 12:01 am
Contact:

Post by Ace Antilles » Sun Jun 06, 2021 10:33 am

There's no TIE file attached.
But the reason it's showing it is because the Star Destroyers are the backdrop.
You need to click the Backdrop button, bottom right and select the one to use
Chief XWAU Team annoying nitpicker.
Ace Antilles - The X-Wing Outpost
Image

User avatar
JaggedFel
Galactic Empire
Posts: 312
Joined: Wed Sep 06, 2006 11:01 pm
Contact:

Post by JaggedFel » Sun Jun 06, 2021 12:28 pm

Bah, I thought I fixed that already. What version of YOGEME are you running?
Ye Olde Galactic Empire Mission Editor v1.10.2
Current software WIPs: TIE Layout and Cutscene Editor, TIE/XvT Cockpit Editor
Libraries / Format specs: *.tie, *.plt, *.tfr, *.lfd , *.act, *.dat image files, *.fnt

User avatar
Ace Antilles
Admiral (Moderator)
Posts: 5963
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2000 12:01 am
Contact:

Post by Ace Antilles » Sun Jun 06, 2021 12:49 pm

JaggedFel wrote:
Sun Jun 06, 2021 12:28 pm
Bah, I thought I fixed that already. What version of YOGEME are you running?
When I load Backdrops I get an error message
"Error reading DAT file from RESDATA.TXT:"

It can't read ShipstuffXWAU2, 3, 4 and 5 .DAT
Then the picture screen loads. Doesn't matter which XWA folder is selected as my install.

Right now I'm on version 1.10 .7810.33731

Also @Jagged Fel did you note Planet2.Dat was updated in XWAU Update 3?
This was for better low orbits backdrops
Chief XWAU Team annoying nitpicker.
Ace Antilles - The X-Wing Outpost
Image

smm2303
Cadet 4th Class
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2017 6:46 am

Post by smm2303 » Sun Jun 06, 2021 3:11 pm

Yogeme 1.10

User avatar
JaggedFel
Galactic Empire
Posts: 312
Joined: Wed Sep 06, 2006 11:01 pm
Contact:

Post by JaggedFel » Sun Jun 06, 2021 3:31 pm

@smm2303 I just posted 1.10.1, fixes the Shadow index so now the game will display what YOGEME says it should.

@Ace Antilles I'm getting the DAT errors too, not sure what the issue is there but that'll probably be in my Dat.dll. It's loading Planet2 just fine.
Ye Olde Galactic Empire Mission Editor v1.10.2
Current software WIPs: TIE Layout and Cutscene Editor, TIE/XvT Cockpit Editor
Libraries / Format specs: *.tie, *.plt, *.tfr, *.lfd , *.act, *.dat image files, *.fnt

User avatar
JaggedFel
Galactic Empire
Posts: 312
Joined: Wed Sep 06, 2006 11:01 pm
Contact:

Post by JaggedFel » Sun Jun 06, 2021 5:43 pm

Okay, so the DAT error is because some of the Groups within those DATs have zero Subs. Opened them in XWA Dat Explorer and those show blank as well, confirmed again by reading the raw hex so I know it's not just a header issue, those images just aren't there.
XWAU2, problem is 20079
XWAU3, problems are 20126 and 20149
XWAU4, problems are 20167, 20168, 20171-20173, 20183-20203
XWAU5, problems are 20204-20216, 20219-20224, 20231, 20232

In the original Shipstuff files, many in 20184-20227 aren't even listed, and the ones that are in both show a placeholder image.
placeholder.png
I think removing the blanks from the DAT entirely could lessen the processing in-game as it wouldn't have to process load failures for zero effect. Since there's only 5 images in XWAU5, those can be thrown in XWAU4 much like the original Shipstuff files.

All that said, it doesn't actually affect YOGEME in any way since those are craft images and not backdrops. I can modify my DLL is just completely ignore Groups that don't have any images.
You do not have the required permissions to view the files attached to this post.
Ye Olde Galactic Empire Mission Editor v1.10.2
Current software WIPs: TIE Layout and Cutscene Editor, TIE/XvT Cockpit Editor
Libraries / Format specs: *.tie, *.plt, *.tfr, *.lfd , *.act, *.dat image files, *.fnt

smm2303
Cadet 4th Class
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2017 6:46 am

Post by smm2303 » Sun Jun 06, 2021 6:38 pm

JaggedFel wrote:
Sun Jun 06, 2021 3:31 pm
@smm2303 I just posted 1.10.1, fixes the Shadow index so now the game will display what YOGEME says it should.

@Ace Antilles I'm getting the DAT errors too, not sure what the issue is there but that'll probably be in my Dat.dll. It's loading Planet2 just fine.

Thank you Jagged fel Sir,
But I think we have one more issues now. Updated to 1.10.1. The SuperBackdrops applied to only first region. When trying to apply for 2 3 4 region it says its already patched.
But in game only region 1 has the new starfield. rest do not have. (starfield shows if we return to the same region again...say region 1)

Any ideas?

SMM2303

User avatar
JaggedFel
Galactic Empire
Posts: 312
Joined: Wed Sep 06, 2006 11:01 pm
Contact:

Post by JaggedFel » Sun Jun 06, 2021 9:13 pm

smm2303 wrote:
Sun Jun 06, 2021 6:38 pm
When trying to apply for 2 3 4 region it says its already patched.
Yeah, region detection was broken, fixed now in 1.10.2 so it'll let you apply it to the other regions. Also includes the new Dat.dll so there's no error messages with XWAUP v3.
Ye Olde Galactic Empire Mission Editor v1.10.2
Current software WIPs: TIE Layout and Cutscene Editor, TIE/XvT Cockpit Editor
Libraries / Format specs: *.tie, *.plt, *.tfr, *.lfd , *.act, *.dat image files, *.fnt

smm2303
Cadet 4th Class
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2017 6:46 am

Post by smm2303 » Mon Jun 07, 2021 3:10 am

Thank u sir. I will check.

smm2303
Cadet 4th Class
Posts: 23
Joined: Sat Sep 23, 2017 6:46 am

Post by smm2303 » Tue Jun 08, 2021 6:04 pm

Working Perfect Thank You.

User avatar
Ace Antilles
Admiral (Moderator)
Posts: 5963
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2000 12:01 am
Contact:

Post by Ace Antilles » Tue Jun 08, 2021 10:49 pm

JaggedFel wrote:
Sun Jun 06, 2021 5:43 pm
Okay, so the DAT error is because some of the Groups within those DATs have zero Subs. Opened them in XWA Dat Explorer and those show blank as well, confirmed again by reading the raw hex so I know it's not just a header issue, those images just aren't there.
XWAU2, problem is 20079
XWAU3, problems are 20126 and 20149
XWAU4, problems are 20167, 20168, 20171-20173, 20183-20203
XWAU5, problems are 20204-20216, 20219-20224, 20231, 20232

In the original Shipstuff files, many in 20184-20227 aren't even listed, and the ones that are in both show a placeholder image.
placeholder.png

I think removing the blanks from the DAT entirely could lessen the processing in-game as it wouldn't have to process load failures for zero effect. Since there's only 5 images in XWAU5, those can be thrown in XWAU4 much like the original Shipstuff files.

All that said, it doesn't actually affect YOGEME in any way since those are craft images and not backdrops. I can modify my DLL is just completely ignore Groups that don't have any images.
The latest version works great thanks.
The reason for the blank spots is for custom support I believe.
There are no placeholders images because we were informed that the placeholder images were causing issues with custom ships.
With the new Mega Patch we'll continue to look at the best ways to organise things.
Chief XWAU Team annoying nitpicker.
Ace Antilles - The X-Wing Outpost
Image

Post Reply